Welcome to the Task Force's Website

The Task Force on Demographic Research and Reapportionment was established by Chapter 45 of the New York State Laws of 1978 to research and study the techniques and methodologies to be used by the U.S. Commerce Departments' bureau of the Census in carrying out the decennial federal census. The Task Force aids the Legislature by providing technical plans for meeting the requirements of legislative timetables for the reapportionment of Senate, Assembly and Congressional districts. It also conducts research projects relating to the collection and use of census data and other statistical information.

The Task Force consists of six members, including four legislators and two non-legislators. The Temporary President of the Senate appoints one legislator, Senator Michael Gianaris (Co-Chair), and one non-legislator, Eric Katz, Esq. The Speaker of the Assembly also appoints one legislator, Assemblymember Kenneth Zebrowski (Co-Chair), and one non-legislator, Howard Vargas, Esq. The Minority leader of the Assembly appoints one legislator, Assemblymember Philip A. Palmesano and the Minority Leader of the Senate appoints one legislator, Senator Andrew J. Lanza.

Phillip D. Chonigman
Senate Co-Executive Director

Adrian Williams
Assembly Co-Executive Director